Barela won’t run for CD1 seat


Jon Barela

State Economic Development Secretary Jon Barela, who ran unsuccessfully for the 1st Congressional District seat in Congress in 2010, won’t try again this year.

Barela made the announcement Friday.

“This was a difficult decision, because there can be so much done on the federal level to improve the economy and the lives of Americans, but I feel this is the time for me to focus on working to make New Mexico the best place to do business so New Mexicans have the opportunity to be prosperous and achieve the American dream,” Barela was quoted by the Albuquerque Journal as saying.

That leaves former State Rep. Janice Arnold-Jones, Albuquerque City Councilor Dan Lewis and Army veteran Gary Smith seeking the GOP nomination for the Albuquerque-area seat in Congress.

4 thoughts on “Barela won’t run for CD1 seat

  1. Dr. J:
    I honestly think that Secretary Barela is making a mistake; an open seat against either Councilor Griego or Ex-Mayor Chavez is the best – and possibly last for a long while – chance he’s going to have at Congress.  For that matter, he was the best (read: “most-likely-to-be-elected”) candidate in the GOP field.  Mr. Smith is a non-starter, even if ex-Representative Arnold-Jones can win a primary in the factphobic Sound-Bite Party she’d face an uphill battle even in the general from the right of her own party, and as for Councillor Lewis… well, to quote an elected official who shall remain nameless, “That guy’s a nut.”
    And yes, folks, I do realize it’s a bit odd for Dr. J and I to be disagreeing in this particular direction.

  2. JerryLee – maybe he couldn’t get enough valid signatures and didn’t want to cheat/break the law and go thru that embarrassment?

  3. Odd announcement … less than a month from the deadline for submission of signatures to be on the ballot (a guy who wasn’t running announces that he isn’t running) … and an odd statement from Savant Jones – whatever.

  4. Good move Jon, you have shown you are smarter than I thought, many of the other candidates, since they have not withdrawn, obviously are not.